Paris – a movable feast

“If you are lucky enough to have lived in Paris as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life it stays with you, for Paris is a moveable feast.”

– Ernest Hemingway –

So, let’s be real, I don’t get that. I’m an broke asian student that still struggling finding my way to fit in a society that is so different from where I grew up in. I can never feel the way Hemingway felt. Is that a disappointment? Somehow, a tiny little bit, yes. But then thinking about it, actually, not at all. I enjoyed Paris in my own fullest way without regret. Paris is truly a feast that you can never get enough since the very first bite.

paris-1

Not just in Paris but everywhere you travel to, would looks very different at night and you might want to give it a try. I don’t even consider going up Eiffel tower as I have height phobia, but if you are interested, you should book the ticket online. It’s cheaper and could save you a lot of time. There is also a restaurant on the tower, I really don’t want to know how expensive it is.

paris-6

How the Louvre looks from the inside.

The Louvre has everything you can think that could exist in a museum here, from paintings to sculpture, Egyptian to European coffins, daily essentials from multiple of ancient cultures, magnificent interior setting…. you name it. But, seriously, if you are not interested in art or you haven’t read any thing about the Louvre, you should skip it. I will state this again, it’s HUGE. It might takes days to visit the whole place so forget about it. Do a little research online, mark what you want to see and go straight to them. You can thank me later.

paris-7

I know it might be illegal to post pictures of others online like this but this is a really nice one. I will take this down if requested. Anyway, the wedding photoshoot is exhausting I believe everyone can imagine. Even so, both the bride and the groom looks sooo happy together. His sweet and gentle gesture really touched me. This is what should be happening everyday in Paris, don’t you think so? Taken near the Louvre.

paris (8 of 1)

Arc de Triomphe turned out to be one of the best attraction I have visited in Paris. The history of it is far more interesting than I thought: “The Arc de Triomphe honours those who fought and died for France in the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars, with the names of all French victories and generals inscribed on its inner and outer surfaces. Beneath its vault lies the Tomb of the Unknown Solider from World War I” (Wikipedia). I was also lucky enough to be here at 6 pm to witness a daily ceremony.

paris (9 of 1)

Underground passage to Arc de Triomphe.

paris-5

This should not be a part of a feast but it’s there so I think I might want to capture it. So apparently you can rent a Ferrari for 90 euro, 20 minutes is not much but could be a lifetime deal for some people. Not for me though. I’m a little annoyed that this kind of business is ran in “the city of light” and people really paying for it. Like, in the end, Paris is super touristy.

paris-12

An old Vietnamese note, taken in Paris’s flea market: Marche aux Puces de St-Ouen.

paris (14 of 1)

As you can see, they sell all kind of old junky stuffs. The flea market is quite out of the city. You might get confused when you reach the place as there are many shops and even another markets around (seems to belongs to the immigrant). Stick to your map and you will find it. It is open in the weekend and on Monday. But when we arrived at around 10 AM on Monday the market seemed to not wake up yet. So I guess you should come in the afternoon during the weekend?

paris-1

Sacre Coeur – The Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Paris. I am not religious so it’s hard to understand the meaning of what I have seen here. But it surely is one of the most peaceful place I have ever been to. I spend a quite long time just sitting there and looking at the ceiling. Being afraid of height, it’s a little bit scary but I just can’t help doing it.

paris (5 of 1)

Chilling in the park. Another piece of French lifestyle I want to make it my own.

paris (20 of 1)

The famous french Tartare. This is so far my bravest experience but also the most rewarding in France. I just wanted to try it but didn’t really expect much. It turned out to be amazing, the meat, despite being raw, didn’t taste that much “raw”. It was full of flavors and didn’t hurt my stomach at all. If you are about to try Tartare, I suggest you to find a nice restaurant and don’t hesitate to spend more as you will want the best quality meat.

Leave a Reply

